The scoop: A little cake with my coffee

A sweet end to the week.

At the end of a week waxing philosophic on coffee, what better way to end it than with a cake.  I found the recipe for this one the way I find most of my recipes – I typed the ingredients I had on hand into a search engine, found a recipe that needed only one more ingredient  and then changed my mind the moment I got back from the store. It’s not a perfect system, but it works. What started out as a search for a baked good that would use the can of pineapple chunks I have sitting in my pantry turned into a wonderfully rich and satisfying brown sugar and cinnamon coffee cake. After writing my post on adding flavors to coffee naturally, I developed a strong craving for the cinnamon. The pineapple creation I originally planned will have to wait for another day. That can is not going anywhere.

I love nothing better than enjoying a good book with my coffee and cake, here are a few recommendations for your Saturday or Sunday morning coffee time.

A History of the World in Six Glasses by Tom Standage. Coffee is only one of the historically defining beverages explored, but if you want a just a taste of history, this is a wonderful read. I have to admit I did finish the book wanting a bit more detail, much like my first cup of coffee (or beer, or tea). 

On my reading list is Uncommon Grounds: The History of Coffee and How it Transformed Our World by Mark Pendergrast. I don’t think I have read it. But, sadly, I often don’t remember if I read a book already until I start reading it for a second time. I would like to think it because of the exhaustive number of books I have read but, sadly, I think it has more to do with a combination of my really bad short-term memory andmy being  easily confused by changing covers from hardcover to paperback.

If you prefer enjoying your coffee in front of a big screen, I recommend and thoroughly enjoyed Black Coffee, a documentary chronicling the history of coffee from its mythical beginning to its roles in revolutions to its current role in the global economy.

Thank you for joining me on my sojourn of all things coffee. Have a wonderful weekend!

This entry was posted in Books, Coffee, Recipe, The Scoop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

