Spilling the beans on a salty and savory snack

IMG_9142I love to bake. I love the simple steps involved in baking and its sweet results. Add this, mix that and poof, pastry. Except for bread, I believe bread is baking’s one exception to its just-follow-the-steps-and-it-will-work-approach. I believe there are faeries involved in determining whether or not dough will rise or bake correctly. I believe these faeries are out to get me.

But I digress.

I was on a baking time out. First it was because I could not stand at the kitchen counter to work. Then when I could stand at the counter (with the aid of a chair), but sadly I am a klutz and moving to and from the oven while balancing hot baking sheets proved foolish.

But then I realized, what if I did bake something? What would I do with the end result? Normally I would bring my baking into the office but that was out of the question. I was not allowed in the office until I done with disability. And I was not prepared to freeze and/or eat it all myself. When you are not allowed to walk or put weight on one foot, eating sweets is not the wisest choice. Sure I could bake and give to my friends and neighbors but a number of them happened to be focusing on their health. I know, selfish. One friend in particular, a spokesman for diabetes awareness, was extremely selfish by training for a half marathon. Damn you Eric!

So I was stuck. First I could not physically bake. And then when I could, there was no one to enjoy it. I wouldn’t even be able give my baked goods away. So I decided I would find a way to bake a treat, a healthy treat.

So what did I bake you ask? Well, I just baked beans instead. Not those old-fashioned baked beans with loads of brown sugar. I baked garbanzo beans. And why yes, they were delicious. Oh, and somewhat healthy. And there are only a few ingredients so they are super easy to make. And they disappeared fast. And they are crunchy and salty, perfect for a snack. Sounds good doesn’t it. Well, please, allow me to share.

I found the recipe online at Steamy Kitchen. Their recipe called for Creole seasoning but I decided my first foray into baking garbanzo beans should be simple and opted to just season with salt.

Ingredients:

Instructions:

Pre-heat oven to 4oo°F

IMG_9096Remove the beans from the can and rinse them. After they are rinsed, place the beans on a paper towel. Cover the beans with another paper towel and just rub them dry. The beans will begin to separate from their outer skin, just discard the skin.

Place the beans in a bowl and drizzle olive oil on them. Not a lot, just enough to coat. Then pour the beans onto a baking sheet, preferably lined with parchment paper.

IMG_9138Bake the beans for 30-40 minutes, until they are browned and crisp. Remove and season with salt.

If you are feeling adventurous, add some of your own seasoning. Whatever you like will work. The beans are really a conduit for the seasoning so if you like the seasoning, you will like the end result.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spilling the beans on a salty and savory snack

  1. JWP says:

    I’m gonna try this one! The kids may eat this for preschool lunches.

Leave a Reply

