The more you know: St. Patrick’s Day edition


Guinness, wonderfully tasty Guinness

On this most holy of days I am charged with communicating to you, dear reader, a most important and sacred fact that was recently revealed to me. Did you know that you are not supposed to frost your beer glass? Did you know? Cause I didn’t. Damn.

Frankly, I am ashamed. For years I have been storing my beloved pint glasses in my freezer. Not just because I was under the mistaken belief that a frosted glass would increase my ale drinking pleasure but, to be honest, I never really had room until now to store them anywhere else.

Well all I can say is thank you BeerAdvocate.com.  I was innocently researching which varieties of  glasses went with which beers. (Again, considering how long I have been drinking beer,  not knowing that certain beers are meant for certain glasses makes me feel like someone who graduated high school yet managed to remain illiterate. You don’t think something like that can happen, until it does.)

Well, while learning the difference between a Pint, a Weizen, a Tulip and a Pilsner, I came across this passage on their site – “Never chill your glassware, and decline if served a frosted glass. Why? As the beer hits the frosted glass condensation will occur and dilute your beer, while at the same time alter the serving temperature.”

So here I sit, defrosting my glasses, waiting for them to reach room temperature so I can enjoy my Guinness as a proper Irish lass should. I am going to put my faith in the people over at BeerAdvocate.com. Why? Because they are advocates, advocates for beer. And by making this one small change I will elevate my moments of drinking ales, stouts and the occasional  lager. Elevate them with this one deliberate change. And as a result, I will make this world a better and tastier place. Sláinte!

One thought on “The more you know: St. Patrick’s Day edition

  1. Dave will now let you borrow his Beer Advocate sweatshirt as well as any glassware for any beer out there. You just have to name which beer goes with which one 😉

Leave a Reply

