Honeysuckle tulip

When I first saw HoneysucklePantone‘s 2011 color of the year, I was not sure how I felt about it. It was pretty, bright and maybe a little too intense. But after a few months, my feelings have gone from uneasy to smitten. Sure, it could be the sweet siren song of Spring that has me falling for the tone. Maybe, like with all great things, I needed to take a second look with fresh eyes and no preconceived notions.  After all, I did not even notice Sadie on my first visit to the animal shelter in Tennessee and now I don’t know what I would do without her. But that is another story for another time. Today, it’s all about Honeysuckle. 

Now, you might ask, “how do I work with a color so intense? So, well, incredibly pink?  Simple, for the timid, use as nature does, sparingly. Dotting the landscape of your home with hints or pops. Look outside, what do you see? Mostly blues, greens and browns right? These are the ubiquitous colors of nature, the neutrals. Any other color you might see, such as honeysuckle, will pretty much falls under the role of accent.  So if you are terrified at the thought of a pink walls closing in on you but love this shade of  pink, try a few throw pillows or one statement piece – a pink sofa or chair.

For the fearless, I suggest go full on pink explosion. After all, it is only paint. Now, I say that with white walls in my home that have remained white for the past two years because I have not found juuuuust the right beige. But that is my and my therapists problem. But if you are feeling brave and ready to ready to go full on color, here are a few links on pinks and advice from the experts on how to use them.

Martha Stewart Living features a gallery on decorating with shades of pink and red.

Elle Decor shares tips on decorating with this hot hue from designers.

House Beautiful shares some favorite pink rooms.

3 thoughts on “Honeysuckle tulip

  1. I love this color! Brilliant idea for the color-lovers among us. Of course, I have a flamingo pink accent wall in my living room…..my color muse at the time was actually a summer dahlia…..so your spring tulip inspiration speaks to me.

Leave a Reply

