Living and baking vicariously through a Mad Hausfrau

Lemon Sugar Tulip Cakes

Tired of cupcakes? Okay, my bad, what was I thinking? Stupid. I know. The journalist in me has just cringed on my writing such a trite and incredibly lazy lead – I have mocked far too many question mark leads in the past to stand by and use one now.  So let me rephrase that, albeit, still somewhat lazily. Instead of cookies or cupcakes this Easter, bake a garden of tasty delights! Or more to the point, tulip-shaped individual cake molds plus poured fondant icing equals awesome. 

Earlier this week I stumbled on an interesting blog, Diary of a Mad Hausfrau. I was reading a post on naturally dyed eggs, while researching how to possible naturally dye my own this Easter and her blog entry is wonderful. When I went back to see what the natural ingredients of the dyes were I was delighted to see these wonderful tulip-shaped cakes. How perfect for my week’s obsession with this bloom.  The colors, the shapes, so Spring. So, if you are as intrigued by these Lemon Sugar Tulip Cakes as I am and as curious about poured fondant icing, follow the links provided and enjoy! I have a feeling I know what I am going to be doing this weekend. Hopefully, I will have some cute photos of successful cakes for you.

4 thoughts on “Living and baking vicariously through a Mad Hausfrau

  1. Wow thank you so much! I am so glad you liked them. You are right. What a great alternative to the ever present cupcake obsession. Can’t wait to see your results.

  2. I think the only thing better would be a caramel cupcake with brown sugar frosting 😉 Thanks for posting. Love this!!!

    1. I could not agree more, in fact, there is really nothing better than a caramel cupcake with brown sugar frosting. I have found that the cafe au lait cupcake at Baked and Wired in Georgetown is the closest I can get but it is a far cry from your cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

