A recipe for achieving ecstasy

First comes the desire. It begins with the faint scent of the forbidden. Next, arousal. That tingling sensation you welcome in breathless anticipation. Finally, the taste. You shudder as you welcome that unique and longed for ecstasy. Yes, you know what I’m talking about even though you pretend not to. Those two little words that can make a sane woman surrender, Almond Paste. Yeah, I went there.

You’ve heard the phrase, nothing tastes as good as being thin feels. Well, that person never had almond paste. Because if they had, they would never have come up with such foolishness. It is rich. It is creamy. It is that certain something you can’t quite put your finger on. But  when eating something baked with it you find yourself not being able to stop. It elevates the ordinary pound cake or cookie to the extraordinary and I am obsessed with it. Sadly, my ass, hips and thighs, not so much.  

It all begin in childhood with my first exposure to this magical and mystical ingredient. The first time I tasted rainbow cookies, the feelings that arose were difficult to put into words. I was embarrassed by how overwhelming my feelings were. So I stayed silent. It was a long, hard and lonely road of discovery. Blindly stumbling from cake to cookie to pudding, I searched for that feeling that felt so natural and yet so wrong. But that was a society obsessed with low-fat living that kept telling me it was wrong. And now I know that fat is not evil. That something created from pure, whole foods is perfectly natural and good. And now I want to share with you a simple recipe that celebrates the beauty that is almond paste as I kick of a week of celebrating the lovely nut we have to thank for it, the almond.

Almond pound cake (recipe from Odense.com)

  • 7 oz of almond paste
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 large eggs at room temperature
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder

Step by step instructions here at the Odense website.

One thought on “A recipe for achieving ecstasy

Leave a Reply

