A lesson in feeling peachy keen

My niece Emily visited me this past weekend. Since the temperature hovered around 100° Farenheit, the weekend involved a lot of staying indoors. (Don’t get me started on the heat index) We shopped, we went to dinner with friends and we made smoothies: yummy, tasty and cold, cold smoothies. We printed out a bunch of recipes, avoiding smoothies that contained bananas. I love bananas in mine but my niece is not a fan.

First we made a kiwi apple smoothie. It was tasty. We also concocted a mixed berry smoothie. It also tasted mighty fine. But it was the peach smoothie, the singular fruit filled smoothie, that was simply divine.

Normally I would not have made a peach smoothie. You see, I am a creature of habit. Once I find something I like, I tend to stick with it to the exclusion of all else. That goes for ice cream, reality shows and, shockingly, fruit smoothies. You know, the important stuff.

But last weekend I opted to put my selfish banana-filled smoothie wishes aside and joined my niece in testing and trying out recipes I would never have normally looked at. And you know what? It paid off. I learned a lesson, a very tasty lesson. I was reminded that while there is a lovely security in having good old reliable favorites there is also a lovely exhilaration attached with breaking out of them as well. And that is just, well, peachy.

 

The simple peach smoothie

  • 2 cups peaches, frozen or fresh
  • 1 cup low-fat milk (reduced fat and whole are fine)
  • 1 6-ounce container of peach yogurt
  • 1 cup crushed ice

Combine fruit, milk and yogurt in a blender and blend until smooth.

Gradually add ice and blend until almost smooth. 

 Makes 4 (1-cup) servings. Approximately 78 calories per serving

Recipe from Recipe.com

One thought on “A lesson in feeling peachy keen

Leave a Reply

