Planting a tasty idea – roasted pumpkin seeds

A memory came to me when I was carving my Sadie-o-lantern. It was one of me at the kitchen table in the first house I ever called home. I remember my Mom and my Dad taking the seeds from a recently carved pumpkin and placing them on a cookie sheet. I am sure some of my siblings were there. I am one of seven children so I am pretty sure that one-on-one time with both my parents was a rarity. Or perhaps my perceived memory is really a concocted dream. I have opted to assume memory. Besides, how many dreams leave you with the memory of salty deliciousness and a hint of butter. Okay, get your mind out of the gutter. Freak. I am talking about salted and roasted……seeds! Pumpkin seeds that is.

Now  my “memory” may be vague but my knowledge in its tasty goodness is not. I never play around with the possibility of tasty goodness. That is just wrong. So when I carved my Sadie-o-lantern I saved the seeds. I went online to see what I needed on hand to properly roast them. It appeared I had everything I needed on hand. Butter, salt and pumpkin seeds. (Now there are fancier recipes but I do love the exquisiteness of a simple recipe. Who needs to gild the pumpkin seed? Not me.)

So I separated the seeds, keeping just a hint of pumpkin gut on them. I melted some butter and stirred in the seeds until they were all coated. I then spread the buttered seeds on a cookie sheet topped with tin foil. I suggest tin foil since burnt butter is not the easiest thing to clean off a cookie sheet. Lastly, I sprinkled some sea salt on top of the seeds and placed the sheet in the oven at 375 degrees for 45 minutes or until golden brown.

You know what happened next.

Those simple seeds were elevated to a simply divine snack. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Planting a tasty idea – roasted pumpkin seeds

  1. Ok – thank you for this. Seriously – for years now, I have just roasted with salt and suffered through. BUTTER! It really does make everything better. (And good tip with the foil.) Now, I just need to get a pumpkin 😛

Leave a Reply

