Giving thanks….

I was not going to write this post. I thought about it earlier in the week and decided, how trite, writing what I am thankful for during a holiday where we give thanks. Seems self-serving. And I can’t help but think it is like telling someone you love them on Valentine’s Day. Not very original. But today is the end of a long, stressful week and an equally longer and stress filled day,  I am sitting down to write what I am thankful for. 

As most of you know, I can be sensitive to my own detriment. I talk the talk I think I should to be strong and self-assured, but at the end of the day, I am an emotional wuss. The jury is still out on my intellectual wuss-dom, but for now, for those who don’t know me, I can say with full conviction, I am,  emotionally speaking, achingly wussy. Someday I hope to be a grown up. But I have a feeling that is not going to happen very soon.

So crap week aside, what am I thankful for this year?

  • I am thankful I have so many wonderful friends in my life who love me, despite my many faults.
  • I am thankful I have a roof over my head, food on my table and the most loving dog in the world to share it with. Sure, she humors me at times, but there is a heart of gold under all that fur and belly fat. The belly fat being my bad, not hers.
  • I am thankful I was able to be with my Mom and to hold her hand when she left this world for the next. And knowing she would never be cold or in pain anymore.
  • I am thankful that now I feel my Mom with me. Accessible now in a way she was not the last few years of her life. I can hear her telling me to not be so stressed. To just make myself a drink, sit back and just relax. Worrying is just a waste of time. She was awesome that way.
  • I am thankful for my Dad being the most wonderful Father a girl can ask for, a sister who amazes me and inspires me every day and, well, my brothers are not so bad either.
  • I am thankful that many friends I love who were tested by illness this year and have kicked cancer’s ass, proving that good girls do finish first. Take that cancer! Beyotch!
  • I am thankful for all that I take for granted. I am sure there are many blessings I miss and overlook. Don’t we all?

I think I could spend the rest of my life just giving thanks for all that I have. I don’t think I could ever write down all the blessings I enjoy. And I hope the same holds true for you.

Oh yes, and beer. All the wonderful, wonderful variations of beer.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

