Four books down and 36 to go.

Photo via Pixmac/lassekristensen-gmail It is a lovely Sunday evening and I am close to finishing Caitlin Moran’s How To Be a Woman, the fourth book in my current quest. Can I just say I am blown away.  I can’t even begin to describe how much I am enjoying reading this book. Her writing is the kind that makes me sad, sad that it is not me doing the writing.

I finished The Bat by Jo Nesbo, Kinsey and Me by Sue Grafton and Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay. I liked The Bat and Darkly Dreaming Dexter. I was enchanted with the first part of Kinsey and Me, getting a long overdue Kinsey Millhone fix but was meh about the rest of it. But did I mention how much I LOVED How To Be a Woman?

I am not quite done with it but I have already started following Caitlin Moran on Twitter and purchased her book Moronthology on Kindle. I want to see her on her How To Build A Girl Tour but since it is in the U.K., it won’t be happening for me. Yeah, I can get carried away with my obsessions. And if you did not know that by now, well, you are obviously not reading this blog closely.

So rounding up……books so far read in Lent.

1. The Bat, Jo Nesbo. (eBook) The first of the Harry Hole books was only recently available in English. I have gone on record for my love of Nesbo and Hole. Not as much a page turner for me as his others, it filled in some blanks in Harry’s past that is glossed over later in the series. I have Cockroaches on deck, the second in the series and final edition that was translated to English. Then on to the last two in the series. Maybe one day I will read them all in order.

2. Kinsey and Me, by Sue Grafton. (Paperback) I am a huge fan of the Kinsey Millhone series by Grafton. And with only a few more letters in the alphabet left, this collection of short stories was a treat. And no disrespect to Ms. Grafton and the stories featuring Kit Blue, but I wish the stories featuring my favorite female detective would go on and on.

3. Darkly Dreaming Dexter, by Jeff Lindsay. (eBook)  I read this book since it was a recommendation from my therapist. It is what the Dexter series is based on. Dexter is a sociopath. They are actually a lot more common than you think. I recommend The Sociopath Next Door by Martha Stout. I am fascinated by sociopaths, except for the ones I have worked for and the one who lives around the corner. In reality they’re annoying but in theory, fascinating.

4. How to Be a Woman, by Caitlin Moran. (Paperback) Damn this book is good. I wish I was half the woman and half the writer Moran is. Right now, I am lucky if I am an eighth and sixteenth, respectively.

One thought on “Four books down and 36 to go.

  1. Awesome – so happy for the reviews. I’m putting Moran at the top of my list for my book club suggestions. Love, love, love learning about what’s new and fabulous 😉 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

