As if cucumbers could be any cooler

Cucumber lovingI have written about my stop and go and stop again posting problem. I am a fickle blogger. I come up with wonderful ideas for the blog. I can picture exactly what I want each post to look like and how it will read. And then I think of some more. I will photograph as I create, keeping mental notes for later. And then I mean to sit down and create them, but I don’t. Then, I have a few more awesome ideas and then not get around to writing them again. Then I feel overwhelmed and rather than write, I end up watching Real Housewives of Beverly Hills on iTunes. The first step is admitting there is a problem right?

So, here is a post that has no great meaning. Here is a post that is not seasonal. Here is a post that I am not sweating over. Here is a post about cucumbers. A post about awesomely marinated cucumbers to be specific.

IMG_9710I love cucumbers. I do. And marinating cucumbers makes me love them even more. The beauty of the following recipe is that really, all you need to remember is equal parts cold water, sugar and vinegar and a pinch of salt. I have also made this with agave syrup instead of sugar.  I have yet to try honey.

My sister Stacey’s awesomely marinated cucumbers

2 medium cucumbers
2 medium red onions
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup cold water
1 cup sugar
1 cup white vinegar

Scoop the seeds out of the cucumbers then slice in a mandolin, nice and thin. Combine water, sugar, vinegar and salt until completely dissolved. Add cucumbers and diced or sliced onions (or peppers or zucchini or any produce you want to marinate.) I don’t always include the onions. More often than not, cucumbers are awesome all by themselves.

Keep refrigerated in a closed container. They will easily last a couple of weeks.

Great as a relish to a sandwich.
Combine with Greek yogurt for a yummy dip
Skip the salad dressing, the cucumbers give salads a sweet taste without smothering everything else.
Or really just eat them by themselves.

Enjoy!

One thought on “As if cucumbers could be any cooler

Leave a Reply

