A mouth watering watermelon salad

IMG_9456I have several obsessions this summer. I am obsessed with margaritas. I am obsessed with watermelon. I am obsessed with lime. I am obsessed with guacamole. Hmmm, a pattern seems to be emerging. And if I am going to be honest with myself, I am obsessed with pairing them up. I guess I am a little ADD with my obsessions right now, but I can’t help it. In a world where we can normally purchase any produce year round, there are still some items that remain seasonal and, in turn, make me very happy. Watermelon is one of them.

So let’s start with watermelon. A watermelon salad to be specific. It is refreshing, it is pretty, it is tasty, but it is most definitely not a salad you make ahead of time.

sideartWhat do you need? Not a lot. Just watermelon, feta cheese and mint. That is it. If you want to be creative, break out the cookie cutters. Or, if you want less fuss, just chop up the melon and sprinkle with the feta cheese and mint. If you are taking it to a party, transport the ingredients separately and put together on arrival. If not, the watermelon juices start to bleed and mush up the feta some and it is just not pretty. Tasty, but not pretty.

Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

