A BLT salad with a side of awesome

IMG_1849.JPG

Yes! A new favorite! I know it is just a salad but hey, I’m a simple gal.

I was trying to mix things up and trade my usual lunch salad – kale, poppy seed dressing, walnuts, dried cranberries and cheese – for something different.

I looked in my fridge and saw some sun-dried tomatoes  and thought, “hey! A BLT salad!”

Then, when I returned the bag of sun-dried tomatoes to the fridge and saw a hard boiled egg sitting all by its lonesome and I thought, “hey! A bacon and egg salad!”

And then I felt torn.

Yes, I am that simple.

So what did I do? Why I made my new favorite salad that includes, you guessed it, sun-dried tomatoes and an egg. It’s a little sweet, a little tangy, a little salty and completely delicious.

I should also add that I have a new favorite way of adding dressing. I go all “Sweet Green” and put my kale in a the bowl that I am going to eat the salad out of and then toss that kale into a larger bowl. I add as little dressing as possible and toss using a pair of tongs. Toss the kale long enough and the dressing will spread evenly and you won’t need as much. I throw in any additions and then return to the mixture to the bowl I am going to eat out of. All these years I was filling the bowl, THEN adding dressing, THEN trying to mix it up.

Yes, I am that simple.

So with no further ado…

The Bacon, Lettuce (okay, Kale,) (sun-dried) Tomato salad with egg 

Ingredients:

Kale (lots)
Bacon bits (a little)
Sun-dried tomatoes (as many as you like)
Blue cheese dressing (sparingly)
Feta (a little)
Toasted oats for added crunch (as you wish)
Hard-boiled egg (1)

I’m not going to list exact amounts or steps because I’m pretty sure you are not that simple.

 

 

One thought on “A BLT salad with a side of awesome

Leave a Reply

